Cadet Classifications

Staff Cadet_______________________________________________________________________________________________

The final classification you can achieve is Instructor Air Cadet. This does not involve formal examinations, but does require attendance upon a Method of Instruction Course, followed by a consolidation period and assessment. This will qualify you to teach other cadets various aspects of the Air Cadet syllabus. Unlike the earlier classifications, you obtain a lanyard as opposed to a badge. This makes instructor cadets very distinct and shows they have completed the full level of academic training available to them.

Master Cadet______________________________________________________________________________________________

The next classification you study for is Master Air Cadet. Continuing from Senior, you will study a further 3 subjects, from the 12 available to you. Once you have completed the 3 assessments, you will become a Master Air Cadet. Upon completion of your Master Air Cadet training you will be eligible for a BTEC Certificate in Aviation Studies.

Senior Cadet_____________________________________________________________________________________________

At this point you will begin to narrowdown the subject that you take, but will study them in more detail. There are 12 subjects to choose from, of which only 3 will be studied. They include how a jet engine works, the theory behind rocket power, how planes and navigators navigate using not just a map and compass, but the full range of instruments a plane offers, they also include the principles of Radar and Radio, as well as the use of Air Power and the construction of planes. Once you have completed the 3 subjects, you will become a Senior Air Cadet.

Leading Cadet_____________________________________________________________________________________________

The next stage in your training is to become a Leading Air Cadet. This involves learning basic navigation and map reading, understanding how an aircraft flies and stays in the air and being able to identify common aircraft and understand how an airfield works. Once you have completed the 3 assessments required you will become a leading cadet. Upon completion of your First Class and Leading training you will be eligible for a BTEC Award in Aviation Studies

First Class Cadet___________________________________________________________________________________________

For the first cadet badge, cadets must be enrolled and must have completed the full syllabus of subjects.  Initially you will study a wide range of subjects, both theory and practical based as you study to become a First Class cadet. This is the first classification you can obtain and should take between 4-6 months after you join. You will study a wide range of subjects, from the RAF to Initial Expedition Training, both in formal lessons and with hands on training.

Full Compliment of Rank and Distinguishing Badges_________________________________________________________
ATC Rank and Distinguishing Badges -  download
Cadet An Example of a Cadet Brassard - download
Duke of Edinburgh
Adventure Training
Parade & Drill

air cadets magazine

Read it

Home Go To Top Copyright 3 Welsh Wing Site Map Website Disclaimer
RSS Air Cadets